Ratchet & Clank Rift Apart: RYNO 8 (RYNO ∞)

Find out everything that you need to know about the unlockable weapon RYNO 8, as well as its final form, the RYNO ∞ (RYNO Infinity).


The RYNO 8 is a unique weapon in Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart as it’s unlocked by completing a collection rather than progressing along the mission lines.

Once all of its collectables have been found, you can unlock the RYNO 8 at the Vendor, and return to the storefront to upgrade the time-and-space-tearing weapon.

RYNO 8 Official Description

“Rift your enemies a new one with the RYNO: a one-of-a-kind super-weapon that lets you bend whole DIMENSIONS to your will.”

RYNO ∞ Official Description

“Fires a ball of energy that opens multiple portals above the battlefield, allowing mysterious objects to fall through. When an object strikes the ground, it creates a massive explosion.”

RYNO 8 Controls

  • Full-pull R2 to rip time and space a new one.

How to Unlock and Upgrade the RYNO 8

You won’t see the RYNO 8 appear in the Vendor’s purchase tab until you’ve collected all ten of the Spybots in Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart. If you find each one as it becomes available, your tenth and final Spybot will most likely be Zurkie’s second Spybot, which is won by completing the Vroom Around challenge of the Gold Cup.

Once unlocked, the RYNO 8 is free to purchase from the Vendor. However, if you want to upgrade the super-weapon, you’ll need to pay one Raritanium per upgrade. Levelling up the weapon to Level 5 – achieved by using it against enemies – will unveil all of its upgrades and transform it into the RYNO ∞.

RYNO 8 Parameters

  • Power: 5 out of 5
  • Range: 3 out of 5
  • Speed: 1 out of 5
  • Area of Effect: 5 out of 5

RYNO 8 / RYNO ∞ Upgrades

At Level 5, when you have the RYNO ∞, you’ll be able to unlock all 41 of its blue-cell upgrades for one Raritanium apiece. To get the perks granted by the gold cells, you’ll need to unlock each of the blue cells that surround the gold clusters.

Blue upgrade tiles:

  • Area of Effect x23 (increase explosion area of effect)
  • Speed Increase x7 (increase the speed at which portals open and drop objects)
  • Direct Damage x8 (direct hits do more damage)
  • Portal Count x3 (opens up additional smaller portals when fired)

Gold upgrade tiles:

  • Unlock Objects x4 (increases the dimensional power of the RYNO to pull objects from different universes)
  • Health Drop x2 (defeated enemies have a chance to drop healing Nanotech)
  • Max Ammo x2 (increase max ammo by 2)

Level 5 RYNO 8 (RYNO ∞)

With the RYNO 8 up to Level 5, to become the RYNO ∞, and all 41 of its upgrades purchased, it’ll reach a state of being 100 per cent complete. As a result, it’ll have its Direct Damage, Speed Increase, Area of Effect, and Portal Count all at their maximum levels.

The RYNO ∞ is very simple to use and incredibly powerful. You pull the trigger to open several portals near the target area, which then drop massive objects that cause damage and explode on impact with the ground.

The RYNO 8 and RYNO ∞ are the Rift Apart weapons that can pull through things from other universes, most notably, the Thunderjaw from Horizon Zero Dawn. This is made possible by getting the Unlock Objects gold upgrade.

This post is also available in:

Rate Our Content: 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 4.60 out of 5)