Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Announces Minecraft Crossover, including Playable Enderman

Fight as Steve, Alex, a Zombie, and even the dreaded Enderman when Minecraft comes to Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.


Fighters Pass Vol. 2 enjoyed a decent start by bringing in Min Min from the Nintendo brawler ARMS in June this year. Now, Mr Sakurai has stepped up his game again, finding a way to infuse Minecraft into Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.

In the announcement made on 1 October, the new fighter reveal video first showed that Steve has joined the battle, and then Alex, as you would expect.


However, after a bit of gameplay footage featuring Minecraft’s leading names, the video then showed that both a Zombie and an Enderman would be joining the Super Smash Bros. Ultimate roster.

Here’s what we learned from the big Smash Bros DLC reveal.

Building and battling in Smash Bros, Minecraft-style

As has been the case in previous DLC fighter reveals, the Super Smash Bros. Ultimate X Minecraft certainly wasn’t short on gameplay footage.

It showed that, at least as the human Minecraft characters, you’d be able to mine materials, craft weapons and tools, and place blocks on the battlefield. A bunch of new arenas were showcased, also.

Below, you can see the ‘Mr. Sakurai Presents’ video with the full reveal, starting from the 29:40 mark.

Towards the end of the video, Mr Sakurai states that more information about the Minecraft DLC for Smash Bros. will be revealed on 3 October at 15:30 UK time (16:30 CEST, 10:30 ET, 7:30 PT).

As far as the Fighters Passes have gone so far, this colossal mash-up of Minecraft and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate might just be the biggest, both in terms of name power and how it’ll impact the mechanics of the game.


Simone Rhea

Started off on PC with classic simulation titles but now plays any game that looks appealing across all three of the major consoles.

Comments

DMCA.com Protection Status